The MEST programme has been running since September 1993. The major steps in its creation and development were:

    • 1988-1989 : Université catholique de Louvain (Belgique), Warwick University (UK) and Université des Sciences sociales de Toulouse 1 (France) are the three founder members who initialized the idea of bringing several universities together to create a European inter-university network to provide Masters-level education in work and employment studies.
    • 1989-1992 : Development. A group of four institutions examined the feasibility of a joint programme and prepared a detailed plan for the project.
    • September 1993 : Official launch of the joint programme.
    • 1994-2004 : Consolidation. Regular adaptations to the curriculum take place with integration of new courses.
    • 2005-2016 : Several new members joined the Consortium, with the numbers reaching thirteen in 2008. A last expansion took place in 2016 with the membership of SNSPA.
    • Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona (Spain)
    • Universität Trier (Germany)
    • Università degli studi di Firenze (Italy)
    • Instituto Superior de Ciências do Trabalho e da Empresa
      – Lisbon University Institute. (ISCTE-IUL) (Portugal)
    • Università degli studi di Milano (Italy)
    • Universität Bremen (Germany)
    • London School of Economics (Great-Britain)
    • University College Dublin (Ireland)
    • Universiteit van Amsterdam (Netherlands)
    • University of Ljubljana (Slovenia)
    • National University of Political Studies and Public Administration Bucharest
      – (SNSPA) (Romania)

Coordinator :

Université catholique de Louvain (Belgium), Ecole des Sciences du Travail